Today in Yerevan, Prime Minister of the Republic of Kazakhstan Bakytzhan Sagintayev took part in the session of the Eurasian intergovernmental Council with the participation of the Heads of Armenia, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Belarus.

Prior to the beginning of the EIC session, President of Armenia S. Sargsyan received the Prime Ministers of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Belarus, who arrived in Yerevan with a working visit. Greeting the guests, Serzh Sargsyan expressed confidence that this meeting will be another important step towards further strengthening of relations.

During the session, the parties discussed the implemented projects within the framework of integration formations. Particular attention was paid to strengthening trade and economic ties and cooperation in implementing the previously concluded agreements.

In the course of the private session of the EIC, the participants considered the procedure for developing initiatives within the framework of the digital agenda of the EAEU, an action plan for eliminating exemptions and restrictions on the domestic market for 2018-2019, the progress in establishing a flight accident investigation body, the draft Agreement on Navigation, and also the draft Agreement on the marking of goods by means of identification in the EAEU, and more.

Speaking at the EIC expanded meeting, Bakytzhan Sagintayev noted that today the international trade relations are undergoing transformations, the trend is growing towards protectionism and increasing competition between the largest countries for building regional trade zones.

In this regard, the EAEU should systematically adjust and adapt medium-term national policies to the new conditions. Since the creation of the EAEU, key policy documents aimed at developing the economies of the participating countries have been adopted, but at present their implementation should be supported by up-to-date economic analysis.

As a result of the EIC session, a number of documents were signed, among them are Decisions on the development of initiatives under the digital agenda of the EAEU, on the approval of the action plan of the roadmap for the implementation of the key directions and stages of implementing the coordinated transport policy of the EAEU member countries for 2018-2020.

In addition, Orders were signed on the action plan for eliminating exemptions and restrictions on the internal market of the EAEU for 2018-2019, the establishment of a flight accident investigation body, the formation of an information exchange system within the common electric power market and the draft Agreement on the Labeling of Goods by means of identification and carrying out the exhibition forum "Eurasia Week" in 2018-2020. In addition, the Instructions on the Draft Agreement on Navigation and several others have been signed.

Published: 25 October 2017



Blogs of government agencies executives