During today’s press conference at the Government press center, Minister of Culture and Sport Arystanbek Mukhamediuly said that serious progress has been made in Kazakhstan with regards to visa and migration regimes.

Thus, during the exhibition "EXPO-2017” for the first time a pilot 72-hour visa-free transit was introduced for citizens of China flying by Kazakhstan airlines through international airports of Astana and Almaty to third countries.

The project showed its effectiveness and safety. In just three months, more than 4.5 thousand citizens from China visited Kazakhstan, leaving 250-300 USD each in the economy of the country. This regime was extended until the end of 2018.

“At this time, we went on to extend this regime. It is very important for us to continue this practice further,” – Arystanbek Mukhamediuly said.

In addition, the Minister noted that in the near future it is planned to introduce a similar regime for India.

“Now we are working on the issue of introducing a 72-hour visa-free transit for Indian citizens. This is a global experience. As you know, the world's largest airports are economically developed hubs. The Head of State always notes that Kazakhstan should become an economic hub in the field of air communication, and in other directions,” – Arystanbek Mukhamediuly stressed.

The Minister drew attention to the fact that today India is rapidly developing economically and is one of the leaders in outbound tourism.

“If Kazakhstan becomes a transit hub between India and other countries, then, of course, the economic situation in Kazakhstan will continuously improve,” – the Minister concluded.

For reference: Kazakhstan provides a 90-day visa-free regime for citizens of Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Mongolia, Russia and Ukraine and 30 days for citizens of Argentina, Azerbaijan, Serbia, the Republic of Korea, Tajikistan, Turkey and Uzbekistan.

In 2014, the state launched a program providing a 15-day visa-free regime to citizens from countries that more than others invested in the economy of Kazakhstan. These countries are Great Britain, Germany, Italy, Malaysia, Netherlands, USA, France and Japan. In 2015, the number of countries participating in the program increased to 19: it was supplemented by Australia, Belgium, Hungary, Spain, Monaco, Norway, the United Arab Emirates, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland and Finland.

From January 1, 2017, citizens of EU and OECD countries, Malaysia, Monaco, United Arab Emirates and Singapore can visit Kazakhstan for up to 30 days without a visa.


Published: 25 January 2018



Blogs of government agencies executives