Minister of Foreign Affairs Kairat Abdrakhmanov has announced the details of the Summit of the Heads of Caspian states.

“As for the Summit of the Caspian States, we are talking about adopting a convention on the legal status of the Caspian Sea; it is a five-sided document between Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Russia, Turkmenistan, and Iran. At the meeting of Foreign Ministers of the Caspian states in Moscow last December, we preliminary agreed on the text of this convention, the point of the issue is technical work,” – the Minister told journalists on the sidelines of the plenary session of the Senate of Parliament.

According to him, at present, all sides are expected to complete internal procedures, after which a specific date for this summit will be determined. “But most likely these procedures will take quite a long time, a few months. Therefore, with regards to the summit, we are thinking about the second half of this year,” – he concluded.

Earlier, the Foreign Ministers of the "Caspian Five" - ​​Russia, Azerbaijan, Iran, Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan have met in Moscow and discussed the development of a document on the legal status of the Caspian Sea. The ministerial meeting preceded the summit of the Heads of state, which is planned to be held in 2018 in Astana.


Published: 15 February 2018


Blogs of government agencies executives